The 2022 Saint-Emilion classification

After a long wait and much controversy, the new 2022 Saint-Emilion classification has been unveiled
The 2022 Saint-Emilion classification

Main content

This week saw the latest iteration of Saint-Emilion’s controversial classification unveiled.

The classification has been caught up in legal battles, with many of the region’s leading properties deciding to abandon the system altogether. In fact, three of the four top estates previously classified as Premier Grand Cru Classé A – Ch. Ausone, Ch. Cheval Blanc and Ch. Angélus – all jumped ship, with La Gaffelière (a Premier Grand Cru Classé B estate) also leaving. 

The 2022 classification has been much anticipated and it’s brilliant news for Ch. Figeac – who were the only estate promoted to the top rank of Premier Grand Cru Classé A, joining Ch. Pavie. This estate has long been one of the top performers in the appellation, with recent vintages consistently impressing consumers and critics alike. They’ve long been tipped for promotion, and it’s great to see the quality of their wines officially recognised. 

Several estates were promoted to Grand Cru Classé, with a new total of 71 estates earning the honour, including FINE+RARE favourite Ch. Tour Saint Christophe. Other promoted estates include: Ch. Badette, Ch. Boutisse, Ch. Corbin Michotte, Ch. Croix de Labrie, Ch. Guadet, Ch.l a Confession, Croizille, Ch. Mangot, Ch. Montlabert, Ch. Montlisse, Ch. Rol Valentin, Ch.Tour Baladoz, Clos Badon Thunevin, Clos Dubreuil, Clos Saint-Julien and Lassegue 

Find the full list of the Premier Grand Cru Classé estates as classified in 2022 below. 

The new 2022 Saint-Emilion classification 

Premier Grand Cru Classé A 

Premier Grand Cru Classé B 

Read more about the Saint-Emilion classification or browse all Bordeaux listings 


Sophie Thorpe
Sophie Thorpe
Sophie Thorpe joined FINE+RARE in 2020. An MW student, she’s been short-listed for the Louis Roederer Emerging Wine Writer Award twice, featured on and won the 2021 Guild of Food Writers Drinks Writing Award.